A New Venture

I have been blogging and online journaling for the better part of the last 10 years. It’s always been of a semi-personal nature with no direction.

Then back in January, the #sachat peeps began talking about a concept that intrigued me: One Word Resolution. Some of the Tweeters I follow did this in 2011, and inspired many more to try it out in 2012. The idea behind this is that you select one word to sum up who you want to be or how you want to live for the year that you concentrate on every day.

I quickly saw EXACTLY what word I need to  select for this project: FOCUS.

Image from “Learning Fundamentals”

In fact, this has been something I should have concentrated on for years, but I’m not going to worry about the past. With the new-ish job, Girl Scouts, wedding planning, housework, hobbies, my fiancee Ellie, and friends, I don’t have a lot of time available for screwing around aimlessly. Well, not a ton of screwing around anyway. I know that when I follow a schedule and check things off my to-do list, I’m a happier person, and less prone to bouts of anxiety. When I get caught up in the cycle of anxiety, I shut down and don’t accomplish anything.

In this vein, I’m starting a new blog project; one where I don’t feel compelled to only entertain, one that represents me as a whole person, not as EITHER a professional OR a 30-something woman who likes Hello Kitty and has anxiety issues. I’m not going to do something crazy like drag all my old posts from all my old blogs into one place, but I’m going to focus from today forward. I (and I’m sure many others) have already made my life too complicated; I say no more.

7 thoughts on “A New Venture

  1. Sounds to me, in reading this, that we have even more in common that I had originally thought!
    Looking forward to reading your journey 🙂

Comments are closed.