[AEP] Email Basics

Email Basics: 40+ hours

Date Earned: June 9, 2011

Step(s) Completed (click badge to view page):

  • Email accounts
  • Vocabulary
  • Learn your program basics
  • Address book / contact list
  • Preferences
  • Attachments
  • Saving your email
  • Links
  • Netiquette — general & professional
  • Security
  • Privacy
  • Spam
  • Email distributors
  • Add-ons

I have been using email since 1998, both personally and professionally, so have done all 17 steps, many of them repeatedly. Most of my knowledge and skills came from self-experimentation and reading the “Help” sections of the email client (Yahoo!, Gmail, Thunderbird, Outlook, etc) I was using. I also performed internet searches when I had questions that were not easily answered within the client itself.

I am confident in my abilities with email and have taught members of my family not only the extreme basics of email, but also how to make the most of their accounts without overwhelming them.


