A Memory of Childhood

I know the likelihood of doing this regularly is low, but I want to try to be a better blogger, and I know that I will likely default to more Student Affairs-focused posts without some kind of prompting, so here is another ReverbBroads post:

What was your favorite childhood stuffed animal or toy? Do you still have it? Okay, admit it, do you still sleep with it sometimes?

When I was 2, my great grandmother gave me a stuffed monkey (or maybe I found it at her house and claimed it as my own…my parents’ memories are fuzzy). Apparently I never let Monchi leave my side once she entered my life, dragging her by an arm or leg all over the place. I remember drawing her as my favorite thing in Kindergarten, and bringing her in for show and tell. Even then, she was in a bad place; all her stuffing was compacted into her legs and head, her body and arms not much more than empty fabric.

She’s been with me through it all: my parents fighting, the teen angst and depression, college, moving into my own apartment, becoming engaged and planning a wedding. Monchi was never very good for hugging or sleeping with (the lack of stuffing on a relatively thin frame makes for a poor snuggle-buddy), but she was there, often when I felt no one else was. She is still on my bed, among the pillows; likely upside down or hanging precariously over the edge, but there.

