Here. Now.

I enjoyed participating in Reverb Broads this past summer, even though I didn’t blog as much as I (always) want. When I saw that the 1st set of December prompts were up, I decided to try participating again.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received from a parent and/or sibling? Worst advice?

The best advice I’ve ever received came from my dad. We have not always seen eye to eye, but this was one thing that stuck despite all the teen angst and young adult anger.

Often enough for it to become annoying, my dad (who thinks of himself as some kind of mix between his heroes Kwai Chang Caine and Jesus) would turn to my brother and/or I and ask the questions, “Where are you? What time is it?” Over time, we learned that he was being philosophical, not literal; the correct answers are, “Here. Now.” As a tween and teen, I appreciated the sentiment of this lesson, but it wasn’t until later, when I became an adult and began juggling work, relationships, friendships, commuting, family, living on my own, furthering my education, etc, etc that I began to understand.

Understanding does not always translate into action however, and I absolutely forget to think about these two relatively simple words.  I am always sometimes get carried away with planning for my future, from what I’m having for lunch & dinner this week and how we’re going to tackle holiday shopping to buying a house and potentially planning a family. I’m a worrier by nature, so being HERE, NOW is a challenge. Actually, maybe I’ll cheat on #oneword2013 and use two…now THAT is something to think about.

Worst advice…I can’t say anything has really stuck out. My family is/was kind of crazy, so much of the advice I’ve received over the years  has been less than ideal, but can I really say it’s been BAD? Nothing that immediately comes to mind anyway.

One thought on “Here. Now.

Comments are closed.