OneWord2013: Here.Now.

8 months ago, I followed the lead of many other bloggers and began #OneWord2012, choosing Focus as my inspiration. I didn’t do as well as I would have liked, but I can’t complain too much about it when I consider just HOW crazy 2012 was.

I considered keeping Focus as my word into 2013, but then I made a ReverbBroads post about the best advice I’ve been given and knew that I should make HERE.NOW. my 2013 resolution. Yet, I struggle because technically speaking, it’s two words. There are plenty of words that speak to the essence of these words, but none hold the same meaning, or feel as powerful, so I’ve conceded to cheat slightly.

Ferris Bueller's Day Off

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop & look around once in a while you could miss it” ~Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

I’m generally an anxious person, always more concerned with the outcome than the task, or planning for the future rather than experiencing today. I don’t want to miss life anymore. The person I have been will never completely go away, but she also does not have to run my life. One (or two!!) words can be intangible for someone who thinks in absolutes (a mode of thinking I tend to default to), so I’m adding some ideas to help guide me (I’m trying to be as non-specific as possible):

  • Expand my spiritual practice: as a Greek Polytheist, I don’t have a community of coreligionists to practice with, so I tend to be lazy about ritual
  • Be more attentive to my looks: this might be getting my hair cut more than twice a year, seeing my waxer more often, or something else that helps me feel better about my outward appearance
  • Be more meditative: I have been saying for years that I want to do tai chi or yoga or something like that–2013 is the year
  • See more people: I am always too afraid to meet new people, and often feel like it’s too much trouble to see my friends, so often feel like I’m missing out on so many opportunities/activities

I want the present to be just as fulfilling as I am hoping for my future. My brother’s death 5 years ago forced me to begin thinking that I may not have a future, so it’s important to enjoy the life I have now. I haven’t done as good a job as I’d like, so here it is.

Has your interest been piqued? Do you want to know more? Becca made a phenomenal post to help others decide on their word, and of course, One Word 365 or My One Word are there for the history and purpose of the project.

3 thoughts on “OneWord2013: Here.Now.

  1. Love that you’re bucking the rules! As long as it motivates you and drives you to be the person you want to be – I think it’s a winning resolution. I’m going to adopt your “get more than 2 haircuts a year” resolution too!

    Good luck 🙂

Comments are closed.