Why “Finding Center”?

I’ve long tried to make this some kind of “professional” blog; mostly due to a deep-seated desire to be “respected and known amongst my peers.” But that’s not me. I LIKE blogging but do my best work when I have a REASON, such as calls for contributors to other sites.

My life does not revolve around higher education. I’m an active Girl Scout volunteer, a wife, a mom to animals, soon-to-be mom to a human, helping establish an Alumni Affiliate for my high school FFA Chapter, and am circling back around to making religion a bigger part of my life. Higher ed is part of me, but it isn’t alone in making up who I am. How can I try to espouse the life mottoes of “Life shouldn’t be complicated” and “Be Prepared” when I fragment parts of my world?

“To make a long story even longer” (to quote my father), I turned toward religion as I thought about the reframe for this blog and came back to a symbol I embraced quite  a few years ago as the symbolic representation of my religion: The 7-circut labyrinth

4534160494_882b44738b_m
Photo credit: A L A N A via Foter.com / CC BY

A labyrinth has a single path leading to a single goal, but you can’t see what’s up ahead, and you loop back upon yourself, but never in quite the same way. I have never found a better symbol for one’s life path. Hopefully, by taking it as the symbol of this blog, I will be able to make something of this, even if no one else reads it (although I DO want people to read it!).

